So there I was, the hottest part of the year. True it was over 100*F every day, but I finally had some free time (the commodity in shortest supply). I didn’t know how much time I’d have so I had to act fast. First thing was to strip the front end off the truck and get as close to bare frame as possible. Luckily for me these old trucks are extremely simple, I started off in the afternoon, and with reasonable water breaks, by the next morning I was done and leveling the frame.

Hood and grille...GONE!

Hood and grille…GONE!

You never knew your core support doubled as a flowerbed did you?

You never knew your core support doubled as a flowerbed did you?

I got my fenders blown off!

I got my fenders blown off!

Getting there...

Getting there…

Looks like it's floating in space with no sheetmetal or axle.

Looks like it’s floating in space with no sheetmetal or axle.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Out comes ~700 lbs of Y-block and T-98.

Out comes ~700 lbs of Y-block and T-98.

Once that happened it was time to just get an impression of what I was in for by lifting the new suspension up to the frame.

Looks gooooooooood

Looks gooooooooood

 

 

